When all else fails…plan a trip to Honduras

I’ve been feeling claustrophobic. Caged. Stifled. Desolate. My life is not moving as fast as I want it to nor is it running in the direction I had anticipated. We all had plans in our twenties, right? So what happens when you are 29, those plans self-destruct, you leave your boyfriend of three years, move into your own apartment, start dating someone who has more baggage than you and start having panic attacks about never amounting to any of your dreams?

I get the travel itch. The intense urgency in selling as much stuff as I possibly can get rid of, cutting all ties, packing a bag and hitting the road.

I’ve gotten wiser with the getting older…I didn’t sell all my shit and I didn’t quit my job and say, “Fuck it, I’m out,” but I did start selling stuff – anything that wasn’t nailed down and I’m packing a bag for Honduras.

I want to feel like I can breathe. That I’m grabbing life and experiencing it. I don’t want to feel like life is happening to me. I want to FEEL. Be alive. Be inspired and connected. I want to remind myself that I AM superb. I am capable. My life is amazing.

So I’m packing a bag. Going to backpack through Honduras and see if I find a less stressful life somewhere in there for me to bring back home.

–C

The answer is in there somewhere...

3 thoughts on “When all else fails…plan a trip to Honduras

  1. Holy shit. I’m not going to be able to read your blog. Seriously I just felt my chest compress reading your words. I feel the same way as you. VIVIDLY. Have fun! And good luck! Miss you face!!

  2. I, too, have found myself wrestling with the realization that life does not move as fast as I had imagined. The scary piece of this fact is the implication that I will not be able to accomplish as much as I had hoped. I am, however, coming to terms with my mortality, as well as the actual pace of life. I’m learning patience and appreciation. I’m finding that I’m best off just exuding as much gratitude as I can muster, as frequently as I can manage.

    Despite my inclination to avoid such emotions, I must admit I am a little jealous of your upcoming adventure. I am also very pleased to know that you will be enjoying such an excursion. I hope it brings you wonder, joy, and peace – or at least a little closer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

